Awards & Aaron Rubin Scholarship

Nominations for the 2021 Fort Worth TAAP Counselor of the Year are now available. All nominations must be submitted by April 30, 2021 in order to be considered.
Nominate someone today! This award recognizes a counselor in the field of addictions treatment who has worked in the trenches with clients and their families, and who has contributed both to their industry, community and the TAAP organization in the true spirit of recovery.

Nominate Here – Counselor of the Year

Nominations for the 2021 Fort Worth TAAP Professional of the Year are now available. All nominations must be submitted by April  to be considered.
Nominate someone today! This award was created to recognize a professional in the field of addiction prevention, intervention, or treatment. A person who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to the advancement of the profession and commitment to their community and the TAAP organization.

Nominate Here – Professional of the Year

2021 Aaron Rubin Scholarship Application is now available! 


The Fort Worth Chapter of TAAP offers scholarships each year. These are available to students attending an accredited school and are engaged in studies leading towards being licensed as a Chemical Dependency Counselor in the State of Texas or a current Fort Worth TAAP member working towards a Master’s Degree or a Bachelor’s Degree in the Behavioral Health field (Counseling, Social Work, Human Service Technology, etc.).

Submit Scholarship Applications Here

2021 Professional of the Year

Sandra Lorden – Cenikor Foundation

2021 Counselor of the Year

Sylvie Wagnon

2021 Aaron Rubin Scholarship Winners

Mandy Forbes – University of Texas Arlington

Ronda Hardin – Weatherford College

Kayci Lawler-Tinsley – Weatherford College

Thomas Hamm – Tarrant County College

Kamilah LaFavor – Tarrant County College

Pam Karnes – 2020 Counselor of the Year
pictured with Casey Satterfield (Practicum Student – Weatherford College)
Christi Weaver – 2020 Professional of the Year
pictured with Suzie Jary (Fort Worth TAAP Treasurer)

2020 Aaron Rubin Scholarship Recipients:
Autumn Henry – Tarrant County College
Christin Fuller – Tarrant County College
Carey Price – Weatherford College
Monica Hartman – Weatherford College
Michelle Tuggle – University of Texas Arlington

2020 Award Winners pictured above: Monica Hartman and Carey Price, Weatherford College students in the Human Service Provider/Substance Abuse Counseling Certificate Program, received the Aaron Rubin Memorial Scholarship from the Fort Worth Chapter of Texas Association of Addiction Professionals, in April and TAAP Student Scholarships from the State organization in September. Carey Price was also awarded the John Pena Memorial Scholarship from the State TAAP.

2019 Aaron Rubin Scholarship Winners:
Mondrea Renee Scott – Tarrant County College
Shannon Strange – Tarrant County College
Zachary Spurlock – Weatherford College
Laurie Roe – University of North Texas
Cara Speicher – Weatherford College

2019 winners pictured below:

2018 Recipients 

Laurie Roe – University of North Texas

James Knight – Tarrant County College

Pam Karnes – Tarleton State University

Melissa Crowe – Weatherford College

Ila “Tink” Conrad – Weatherford College

2017 Recipients 

Stephanie Simpson – Tarrant County College

Rosalyn H. Thomas – Tarrant County College

Sandra Lorden – Tarrant County College

Stacy Wallace – Weatherford College

Starlet Airheart – Weatherford College

2016 Recipients 

Sandra Lorden and Kirby McMillan

(pictured below with Angel Ayala)